Recent and New Developments

These last few months have been so hectic, it’s hard to believe that time has flown as quickly as it has.

First, I want to reassure those of you who have ordered The Secret School of Wisdom, that the book will be released in January, as planned. If by some happenstance I really don’t want to conjure up things change, I’ll be sure sure to keep you posted. Everyone who has been involved in the translation, editing, and production of this book has made a tremendous investment of time, energy, and resources in this project, and I think I’m speaking for everyone when I say that we’re hell bent for leather on making it happen.

(January 8, 2015, UPDATE: The book was sent to the printing company this morning. At this point, I can’t tell you when it’ll ship, though.)

Two Weishaupt translations were published earlier this year, A Brief Justification of My Intentions: Adam Weishaupt Speaks Out in His Own Defence and Supplement to the Justification of My Intentions: Adam Weishaupt Sets the Record Straight. They’re translations of Weishaupt’s two 1787 apologetic writings Kurze Rechtfertigung meiner Absichten: Zur Beleuchtung der neuesten Originalschriften and Nachtrag zur Rechtfertigung meiner Absichten. The translator is Tony Page, Ph.D., who has also published works by the poet Friedrich Halm (1806-1871). So he is no stranger to literary translations. I have added posting my reviews of his translations on this blog to ever growing list of Illuminati projects. Including The Secret School of Wisdom, this will raise the number of full-length Illuminati related German to English translations to 6.

I am currently working on a two-part article about the Illuminati that will be published in Philalethes, The Journal of Masonic Research, in which I discuss academic reform as an important factor in the genesis of this secret society, the Illuminati’s stance on esotericism, and their relationship with Freemasonry in the 18th Century.

Next year, I am planning to edit Josef Wäges’ translation of Adam Weishaupt’s Better than Horus, and I have also been in contact with SirMark Bruback about editing the translation of Adam Weishaupt’s Diogenes’ Lamp.

A few days ago, I also committed to contributing to an important online resource. It’s not a secret, but I don’t want to go into any great detail about it just yet — at least not until I have posted some actual content. As my own understanding of this topic has grown since this blog started, I also feel that a major rewrite of the articles I have posted so far is in the foreseeable future.

2015 promises to be an exciting year for those doing serious research on the Bavarian Illuminati.

3 thoughts on “Recent and New Developments

Leave a Reply

